A REAL Coach

Growing up, it seemed like we lived at the ball field in the summer. Between practices and games, it was my world. I was blessed to have a father that was also my coach through most of my baseball years.

I learned a lot about what a “real” coach looked like. I don’t remember my father ever being anything but encouraging. If you made a good play, he was quick to acknowledge your effort. If it was a bad play, he would be quick to encourage and lift you up. We won championships and there were times our season wasn’t quite so grand.

I remember watching a little league coach get mad and throw third base into the outfield over a “perceived” bad call. Being on the opposing team, we joked that we were glad he only threw the base and not our third baseman. What did that accomplish? NOTHING (well, other than made him look like a fool). The kids are watching to see how you react. How they see YOU act, tells them it’s okay for THEM to act that way.

Through the good seasons and bad ones, I had a father that backed me 100%. I miss the days on the ball field with him and it’s still hard going on a diamond without him there. Though he isn’t with me physically, he is through all the instruction and guidance given over the years.

Now, it’s my turn. I am blessed to be one of my daughters softball coaches. I work with another coach that has a similar passion for the game. Someone that encourages the team and lifts them up. A REAL coach doesn’t belittle or criticize. A REAL coach instructs constantly but encourages always.

I went to a T-Ball game recently and was glad I had been warned prior to arriving. I was told about the lack of interest the coaches had. I’ll be honest….. it broke my heart. So much so, that I immediately sent a text to my daughter’s head coach. I had to thank him for his passion for the game and his encouraging spirit. This was truly sad! There was no “coaching”.

One kid (ok, it was my son that I was impressed by and amazingly proud of), played shortstop but ran to first and third base lines AND center field to make plays. He was the only one going for the ball! He ran circles around the other players. Not because he was better than anyone else but because he knew what to do. Before I signed him up to play, I made sure he could hit and throw. I wasn’t about to leave it up to someone else to train my kid, that’s my job! I’m not a major league coach but I do know baseball. I might not have the skills to get him a college scholarship but I do have enough knowledge to get the basics down.

As a father, it is my job to prepare my kids for this world, on and off the field. I could just stand by and leave it up to someone else but I want to make sure they are truly ready. I don’t want to just throw them out there without any knowledge. My kids may get aggravated at me from time to time but I am also one of the first ones they run to (maybe second to their mom).

I want my kids to know that winning feels good but it isn’t everything. I choose to build them up and encourage them. I want them to have an “I can” attitude instead of an “I can’t”.

Whether it’s on a ball field or in life, be a REAL coach! Give a little more encouragement and a lot less criticism. Be about winning but only getting there by moral ways. If you take a loss, learn from your mistakes and look toward the next game.

Now, let’s get out there and play some ball!!  Have a blessed week!!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A REAL Coach”

Leave a comment